top of page

8 Ways to Be A Yogi On & Off Your Mat Space

Welcome to Over the Rainbow Yoga Hawaii, we are grateful to have under our 'rainbow' a team of amazing yoga teachers, who are here to offer you exciting yoga classes in the Honolulu area. From restorative yoga to yoga conditioning, our incredible teachers not only share their passion through teaching yoga classes, they also follow the yoga philosophy and principles outside of their mat space.

Are you familiar with the Yoga Principles? Do you practice these ON and OFF your yoga mat?

yoga principles, yoga philosophy, yoga asana, over the rainbow yoga hawaii


1. YAMAS | Social Principles:

~ self-restrains

~ what goes our comes around

~ non-violence, truth, non-stealing, continence, forgiveness, endurance, compassion, humility, healthy diet, and cleanliness

  • AHIMSA= non-harming / non-violence - kindness towards ourselves and others, loving thoughts, words, and actions

  • SATYA= truthfulness - being truthful, be your truth and live your truth .* ASTEYA = non-stealing - not taking anything that was not offered to us freely

  • BRAHMACHRYA= continence & consciousness - choosing moderation and practicing self-control

  • APPIGRAH= non-collecting, greedlessness - practicing gratitude

2. NIYAMAS | Personal Principles ~ daily practice ~ austerity, contentment, belief, charity, worship, modesty, a discerning intellect, and sacrifice

  • SHAUCH = purity - outer and inner cleanliness

  • SANTOSH= contentment - acceptance

  • TAPAH = practice equality - positive and vibrant energy

  • SWADHYAYA= self-study - a practice of oneness

  • ISHWAR PRANDHANA= devotion to consciousness

3. ASANA | Postures

~ through asana one achieves steadiness of the mind

~ diseaselessness and lightness, purification and control of the body

~ free flow of prana (vital energy) - removing stiffness, blockages and accumulated toxins

~ in asanas you practice should be able to be still, feel stable and comfortable

Sthir - sukham - asana


4. PRANAYAMA | Breath Work

~ using breath to regulate energy

~ connection between the breath, the mind, and the emotions

~ literal translation of pranayama, "life force extension"

~ rejuvenates the body but actually extends life itself

5. PRATYAHARA | Withdrawal of Senses

~ control over the senses

~ make the conscious effort to draw our awareness away from the external world inward

~ to direct our attention internally

~ an opportunity to step back and take a look at ourselves

6. DHARANA | Intense Focus

~ concentration

~ to free ourselves from the outside distractions

~ the practice of concentration teaches us how to slow down the thinking process by concentrating on a single mental object

7. DHYANA | Meditation

~ becoming fully focused

~ focus and concentration

~ state of being in the present moment

~ taking a control over the thoughts

8. SAMADHI | Complete Integration

~ bliss or enlightenment, a state of ecstasy

~ the final step of the journey of Patanjali’s Yoga Sutras (see below)

~ a state of realisation

~ transcendence and connectivity with the divine

~ a mind-body integration = oneness

~ a pure state of ‘I – am – ness’

yoga principles, yoga philosophy, yoga asana, over the rainbow yoga hawaii

Who is Patanjali?

Patanjali is the author of Yoga Sutras, a core foundation of the traditional yoga. In the Yoga Sutras, the eight limbs are referred to as Ashtanga:

ashta= eight

anga = limb


bottom of page